My horoscope cracked me up

Pratibha Verma
3 min readDec 12, 2023

Meet me! I am Pratibha, a December born, and a Sagittarius! So the word, ‘’Sagittarius!’’ Today I know this, but before 2016, I had no clue that it was my zodiac. My mother made me realize that my name starts with ‘’P’’, so I am a Virgo. She was so damn sure about it! I swear…

Newspapers are not trendy today, but before 2016, almost every family had an offline subscription to them. My family, too! I was habitual to read from the back, which had my two favorite pages. So, one was all about colorful celebrities and movie life (before, I felt amazed, but now I don’t follow them actively), and the second was about the daily horoscopes. Many times, I never knew what was on the front pages. So, after reading the celebrity one, I used to look for the last column of the daily horoscope under the ’Virgo sign.''

Oh God, all those years, I fooled myself and read someone else’s horoscope. Usually, the newspaper used to state, ‘’money loss; today your mood may be bad; don’t wear this color; your lucky number is blah, blah; this direction will suit you; you will be a scientist. This ‘’maybe’’ really kept me in suspense and sometimes irritated me. While that scientist thing flashed an imaginary smile in my mind. Haha…

--

--